Call for Papers

The Lithuanian Economics Network together with the Bank of Lithuania has initiated the Lithuanian Conference on Economic Research to promote economic research in Lithuania and integrate Lithuania’s economics community into the global academic environment. We now invite paper submissions for the 6th Annual Lithuanian Conference on Economic Research, which is organized in collaboration with Kaunas University of Technology and Global Lithuanian Leaders and will take place on June 27-28, 2017 at the Martynas Mažvydas National Library of Lithuania.

Keynote Speaker
Torsten Persson, Swedish Research Council Distinguished Professor at Institute for International Economic Studies, Stockholm University, has kindly agreed to be the keynote speaker of this year’s conference. Torsten Persson is the leading scholar in the field of political economics. His work has appeared in in all top five academic journals in economics. In 1997, he was awarded The Yrjo Jahnsson Award in Economics, a biannual award by the European Economic Association to "the best young economist in Europe". He is currently serving on The Prize Committee for the Alfred Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences.

Please submit completed papers in PDF format to Papers in all fields of economics, finance and business studies are welcome. We expect the program to be balanced between macro- and microeconomic research, as well as theoretical and empirical work. Each paper will be assigned to a discussant. The deadline for paper submissions is March 31, 2017. The submitting authors will be notified by April 15, 2017.

The conference is also open to researchers who do not plan to present a paper, subject to space availability. We especially welcome Lithuania’s economics community: postgraduate students, professors, independent experts, economics journalists and government officials. Those researchers should send an email indicating their interest by June 15, 2017.

The working language of the meeting is English. There is no conference fee. The participants are responsible for their travel and accommodation expenses. For updates and further information, please see the conference’s website:

Program Committee
Rimvydas Baltaduonis (Gettysburg College), Audinga Baltrūnaitė (Bank of Italy), Mihnea Constantinescu (Bank of Lithuania), Aurelijus Dabušinskas (Bank of Lithuania), Marius Jurgilas (Bank of Lithuania), Sigitas Karpavičius (Adelaide Business School), Jūra Liaukonytė (Cornell University), Vaiva Petrikaitė (Instituto de Análisis Económico), Linas Tarasonis (Bank of Lithuania & Vilnius University), Robertas Zubrickas (University of Bath), and Alminas Žaldokas (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology).